Nickolaevsky Palace Not far from the British embankment there is a magnificent Grand Duke’s Palace, built in the middle of 19th с by the architect A.Stakenshneider in the style of Italian Renaissance, and named after its former owner — Nickolaevsky Palace. The elegant facade of the palace is decorated with three rows of pilasters and numerous ornamental details. The palace main staircase adorned with grey granite columns and white marble vases preserves the magnificent appearance of old times. In 1895-1918 there was an Institute for girls of the noble origin located in the palace. After the October Revolution of 1917 the palace was given to the trade union organizations and was renamed the Palace of Labour. Now the palace is used as a place for the city concerts. Every evening folk shows «Feel yourself Russian!» are held here.
Address: 4, Truda Sq.